Rainbirds

My friend Dan and I went on this hike yesterday. The temperature was in the mid to upper forties and it rained the whole time, keeping this song on repeat in my head.  It was one of my favorite hikes so far. An 8.6 mile hike with a 700 foot elevation gain might have been a little too easy had the trail not been rained on for the last four months making everything muddy, mossy and just a bit dangerous. This is but a sample of the waterlogged trail conditions. It may not look like much from where you sit you smug bastard, but it was, IT WAS!

 

 

There were scattered patches of snow but really only enough to add color variation to the terrain. It wasn’t just a matter of coping with the weather though, there was a lot to see.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The gem of the trip, double rainbow!

 

 

 

 

Slippery bridges.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The snack spot, where we turned back.

 

 

This picture does little to impress upon you exactly how freaking high this tree was.

 

 

The hike was just difficult enough to make the last 2 miles painful, perfect.

 

After the cold wet hike we headed to the tiny town of Arlington to get some hot food. As a vegetarian, I have learned that as the size of the city decreases, so do the veggie eating options. It’s one of those things you just learn to accept. So imagine my surprise when we rolled up on this muhfucka.

 

 

Yep, small town, LOTR themed vegetarian food. I was enamored.

 

 

 

Nerdin’ full on.

 

 

Well the coffee was bad, the food was ok, apparently Tolkien’s real life politics sucked, but I was happy as could be. What brought it all together was the bathroom art. Vegetarian food, LOTR and juggalos, my life is complete.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under miscellaneous

Leave a comment